Financial Breakdown of an IUD

Birth control is absolutely a personal and personal finance issue. And since my non-profit world directly involves talking about birth control pretty much all day, every day, why not overshare on what my uterus is up to.

I spoke earlier about my IUD experience here and about the costs associated with birth control here

The box the IUD comes in

The box the IUD comes in

But what I haven’t done yet is a financial break-down of my own IUD!

I am very fortunate to A) have access to free health care in Canada and B) have an amazing workplace with great drug coverage. 

As a result my hormonal IUD prescription, including pills to take the night before to aid in insertion, came to $96. This is way down from the retail cost of a hormonal IUD, that can be anywhere from $300-500 without insurance.

Before this, I was taking birth control pills which were $22/pack.

So when has the IUD paid for itself?

IUD without insurance (average cost): $400

Birth control pills: $22/month

Break even point: after 19 months the IUD is cheaper

IUD with insurance (my experience): $96

Birth control pills: $22/month

Break even point: after 4.3 months the IUD is cheaper.

 

I’m currently more than 2 months into IUD land, so I’m half way to free birth control! And importantly still going strong and haven’t peed my pants.

 

Leave a Reply

