Mini Spending Fasts

I haven't done this in at least 14 days.

I haven’t done this in at least 14 days.

For the past 2 weeks I had a mini challenge for myself: do not buy any chocolate or candy.

This started off because I have a not so secret habit of going to the bulk candy store, dropping $10-20 and having it be gone in two days. Now I do run 5-7 times a week and I only buy these candy sacs maybe once a week, but you don’t have to be a doctor to realize that me consuming pounds of candy every month is not the healthiest option.

It is also not cheap!

For $20 I got the Good Food Box with enough vegetables and fruits for two weeks for two adults.

My challenge was to not buy any chocolate or candy, but I ended up also not eating any for 11 days. Yay! Surprise but good result.

I did eat homemade brownies and fudge someone brought for a potluck, but I was much less crazy about it than I thought I would be.

I likely saved about $30, which is not tons of money, but is some money that I could absolutely spend it in other ways that don’t make me feel like a sick ball of sugar for two days.

Guilty pleasures can absolutely be a great part of your budget if they give you lots of pleasure, self-care and they aren’t super damaging to you.

I think it worked very well, and I feel good. I’m hoping to do it every month for at least 10 days.

Do you have a guilty pleasure that is eating at your body and your budget? Have you thought about attempting even 3, 5, 7 days without it?

 

Leave a Reply

