October 2013 Monthly Budget

October – let’s try this budget thing again with a new month!

I feel crummy about all the money I spent on clothes last month so I’m going to attempt a real challenge: No clothes buying in October!

Normally this would not be so hard, but October is my birth month so I often go a bit spendy on myself. This, like all things, can change right?

October Budget:

  Oct predicted Oct Actual
Rent 850  
Utilities 30  
transportation 60  
health insurance 25  
phone 40  
groceries/personal care 250  
restaurant 85  
clothes 0  
entertainment 150  
bank fees 15  
savings 500  
debt repayment 600  
emergency fund 50  
retirement 50  

I do like the accountability and flexibility of a monthly budget. It is a good time frame to see results, but not so long that your motivation is derailed after a financial misstep. I’m back on the budget bandwagon for October!

I want to make a point this month to spend excess money in the pursuit of new friends, activities or memories, and not consumable personal things like snacks or clothes.

Let’s see how it goes!

Leave a Reply

